Top End Cup Winners

Hard work and perseverance paid off for the Haileybury Rendall School Clontarf boys who brought home the silverware from the Inaugural Top End Cup.

Taking on teams from right across the Northern Territory, the cup is more than just a competition for the boys.

They were up bright and early, and the students were chomping at the bit to play their semi-final against Nightcliff.

Haileybury Rendall School did all the attacking early and were soon out to a comfortable lead.

The one-sided nature of the semi-final enabled them to rest the teams big guns for most of the second half and gave some of the younger boys more game time.

The Bloods finished five goals winners.

So, then it was into the final of the first ever Top End Cup, and after an upset in the other semi-final (Katherine was beaten by Yirara), their opponents were Yirara whom they had beaten on Wednesday in the pool games.

The boys started like a house on fire with the usual suspects, Clay Shadforth, Sammy Dhurrkay, Tyson Ryan and Keifin Mardi dominating the centre square.

They peppered the goals relentlessly and could only manage five behinds before forward pocket specialist Demetrius Farrell kicked the first major.

Another behind soon after and some solid defence from the backline, Asher Williams, Silvo Mason and Stanley Waistcoat had the halftime score at 1-6-12 to zero.

After dominating the first half they were only 12 points up and work still needed to be done to ensure a maiden Top End Cup victory.

After regrouping at half-time, the boys continued their dominance. Michael Jimarin and Jalias Campbell kicked early goals with Dale Kundu, Chad Barnes and skipper Brett Wilson also playing well.

After a couple of late goals from Yirara, the Bloods ran out victors by 19 points 4-7-31 to 2-0-12.

Top End Cup

Sammy Dhurrkay and Asher Williams were selected in the all-star team with Clay Shadforth being unlucky to miss out.

A great effort by the Clontarf Boys and many thanks to coaches Mr Andrew Wills, Mr Paul Grant and Assistant Mr Nathan Wolter.